Nicole Kidman and James McAvoy win at Evening Standard Theatre Awards

The 61st London Evening Standard theatre awards, in partnership with The Ivy at The Old Vic Theatre, saw scores of theatre and television figures converge to honour this year’s work.
Nicole  Kidman, the Oscar winner, 48, was named best actress for her performance as pioneering scientist Rosalind Franklin in Photograph 51 — almost two decades after her electrifying appearance in The Blue Room at the Donmar Warehouse was described as “theatrical Viagra”.
Nicole Kidman's portrayal of Rosalind Franklin in Photograph 51 Johan Persson

Nicole Kidman’s portrayal of Rosalind Franklin in Photograph 51 / Photo: Johan Persson

She said: “The connection as an actor — I’d been doing so many films — after 17 years to have that connection with an audience again, there was such power in that. Every night I’ve gotten to take a bow and say thank you to the audience for allowing me to perform for them. So tonight because of the Evening Standard I get to bow and say thank you for the privilege and honour of being on the London stage.”
James McAvoy in The Ruling Class Johan Persson

James McAvoy in The Ruling Class / Photo: Johan Persson

James McAvoy was among the fellow winners and was presented the Best Actor award by Gillian Anderson for his performance in The Ruling Class at Trafalgar Studios.  He dedicated his prize to his wife, actress Anne-Marie Duff. McAvoy, who is perhaps also better known for his film roles, including The Last King of Scotland, saw off an all-star shortlist, beating Ralph Fiennes and Simon Russell Beale.
Gemma Chan, Jeremy Irons, Gillian Anderson, Dame Shirley Bassey, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Ruth Wilson and Dominic West were among those who presented awards. The ceremony was co-hosted by Evening Standard owner Evgeny Lebedev, Dame Judi Dench and Sir Ian McKellen.
The Winners
Best Actor: James McAvoy, ‘The Ruling Class’, Trafalgar Studios
Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress:  Nicole  Kidman, ‘Photograph 51’,  Noël Coward Theatre
Best Play:  ‘The Motherf****r with the Hat’, Stephen Adly Guirgis, National Theatre’s Lyttelton
Milton Shulman Award for Best Director: Robert Icke, ‘Oresteia’, Almeida Theatre & Trafalgar Studios
Best Design:  Anna Fleischle, ‘Hangmen’, Royal Court
Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright: Molly Davies, ‘God Bless the Child’, Royal Court Upstairs
Emerging Talent Award in Partnership with Burberry: David Moorst, ‘Violence and Son’, Royal Court Upstairs
Best Musical Performance: Imelda Staunton, ‘Gypsy’, Savoy Theatre
Newcomer in a Musical: Gemma Arterton, ‘Made in Dagenham’, Adelphi Theatre
Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best  Musical (voted for by the public): ‘Kinky Boots’,  Adelphi Theatre
Beyond Theatre: ‘Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty’
Editor’s Award: Vanessa Redgrave
Lebedev Award: Stephen Sondheim
Share This!Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrEmail this to someone

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *