Ken Loach wins second Cannes Palme d’Or with “I, Daniel Blake”

British veteran director Ken Loach won his second Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival when “I, Daniel Blake”, his latest social-realist drama. Loach, 79, is one of only nine directors to have won the top prize at Cannes twice. He had won in 2006 with “The Wind That Shakes the Barley.”
“I, Daniel Blake”, shows how Britain’s social security system conspires to drive a downtrodden carpenter and a single mother of two into poverty in the northeastern city of Newcastle.
Grand Prix: “Juste la Fin du Monde” (It’s Just the End of the World), directed by Xavier Dolan (Canada)


Jury Prize: “American Honey”, directed by Andrea Arnold (Britain)


Best Director: Cristian Mungiu (Romania) for “Bacalaureat” (Graduation) and Olivier Assayas (France) for “Personal Shopper”


Best Screenplay: Asghar Farhadi (Iran) for “Forushande” (The Salesman)


Best Actress: Jaclyn Jose (Philippines) in Brillante Mendoza’s “Ma’ Rosa”


Best Actor: Shahab Hosseini (Iran) in Asghar Farhadi’s “Forushande” (The Salesman)
Festival de Cannes

Short Films

Palme d’or: TimeCode directed by Juanjo Gimenez


Special mention from the Jury:  A Moça que dançou com o diabo (The Girl Who Danced With the Devil) directed by João Paulo Miranda Maria


Caméra d’or: Divines réalisé – Houda Benyamina


Prize of un certain regard: Hymiilevämies (The happiest day in the life of Olli Mäki) by Juho Kuosmanen


Jury prize: Fuchi ni tatsu (Harmonium) by Fukada Kôji


Prize for best director: Matt Ross for Captain Fantastic


Prize for best screenplay: Delphine Coulin & Muriel Coulin for Voir du Pays (The Stopover)


Special prize un certain regard:  La Tortue Rouge by Michael Dudok de Wit

Share This!Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrEmail this to someone